What Are Alcohol Control States


What Are Alcohol Control States: FAQs

1. How many control states are there in the US?

There are currently 17 control states in the U.S., including Alabama, Idaho, Iowa, Maine, Michigan, Mississippi, Montana, New Hampshire, North Carolina, Ohio, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Utah, Vermont, West Virginia, and Wyoming, and Maryland. 

2. What is a control state?

Control states are states in which the government is involved in some aspects of the sales and distribution process. You can only buy alcohol in strict control states at state-run ABC retail stores.

3. What’s the difference between all the control states?

In some control states, the government intervenes at the distribution level to select brands and set prices. Other controlled states exercise power at the retail level by limiting sales to ABC outlets.

4. Which states have the strictest liquor laws?

The strictest states on alcohol are Pennsylvania, Utah and North Carolina. For example, in North Carolina, drink offers such as “buy one get one free” are completely prohibited.


Source link

What is your reaction?

In Love
Not Sure

You may also like

Comments are closed.

More in:Shopping